Fluffy Bedding Reviews

It is important that the experiences and opinions from the public that have accumulated over the years remain on the record, these listings may not remain forever but we hope the reviews do.

 

It is only fair that the owners and hamsters who have suffered from these products continue to receive the justice they deserve and continue to have their story told and not deleted.  It is therefore important to preserve the concerning 1 star reviews and we will continue to do so on this page:

 

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Naturals-Soft-Animal-Bedding-Small/dp/B013Q8UMU0

 

 

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Naturals-Play-Bedding-Pods-Pack/dp/B00ZFSGJ02

 

 

Without receiving formal confirmation it seems that the below pink fluffy bedding has now been discontinued. Even though this item may not be produced anymore it is important that the negative experiences and opinions from the public that have accumulated over the years remain for historical purposes and continue to show the issues surrounding fluffy bedding.

 

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Petlife-Safebed-Fluff-Bedding-Colours/dp/B004BL44RO

 

Fluffy Bedding Testimonials from 1997 -1998

 

http://www.geocities.ws/petsonline2001/fluffy.html

 

DANGEROUS BEDDING METERIAL

 

There are various types of fluffy cotton wool type bedding sold in pet shops for small animals and marked as “safe”. Unfortunately there have been numerous cases where this type of bedding has caused injury, even death, to small animals.

 

This type of bedding does not dissolve in the stomach if eaten and can therefore cause a stomach blockage. Also the fine fibres have been known to get caught around a hamster’s limb and tighten cause injury, even amputation to the limb. The bedding can also become stuck in the hamster’s cheekpouch.

 

As a general rule, any bedding used for hamsters should dissolve if placed in water or a very weak acid solution and should break easily. This will ensure that if eaten by the hamster the bedding material simply dissolves in the stomach and if caught around a limb it is easily broken by the hamster. Any bedding material that does not meet these criteria should not be used. Shredded paper bedding is always best.

 

Below are some hamster owners’ experiences of using fluffy bedding with their hamsters. If you know of a pet store which sells this type of bedding you may like to print off this page and show them the dangers of this type of bedding and see if they can be persuaded to stop stocking it.

 

MAYBE SOMEONE U KNOW in SOMEWHERE at 11:41:20 Wednesday April 22 98
On this very first day, my mom took me to a pet shop to buy a pet. On that day, I bought all the things needed. By foolishness, I bought the fluffy bedding as it is marked save. The next day my hamster choked and immediately I took it to the vet and the vet used a tube like thing to suck out the bedding and told me not to use the fluffy bedding as many of his patients are killed by this.

 

Cheyanne Owl-Spottedhorse in Fairbanks,Alaska at 19:59:7 Tuesday April 21 98
Fluffy bedding caused my hamster baby to get gangreen. Now I have Ivory.

 

Claire in South Wales UK!! at 22:48:5 Monday April 13 98
I purchased a baby syrian hamster and had to take him to the vet hours after he had settled into his new home as he had put food and bedding (FLUFFY) into his cheeks and didn’t know how to remove it, the vet had to pull it out! If he had swallowed this it wouldn’t have broken down but made him quite ill! Be careful if you do use fluffy bedding!

 

Allan in Singapore at 11:4:26 Monday April 13 98
My old hamster had eaten a small piece of the fluffy bedding and as a result he died! Before his death we took him to the vet and when we reached there he died. Now I only use soft tissue. Don’t use that stuff it will do no good to your hamster!

 

Markay in Somewhere at 23:21:30 Monday March 23 98
I used a fluffy bedding for my old hamster and it had a weird seizure and died.

 

Amy in Oregon, USA at 8:32:6 Sunday March 22 98
We have Syrian & Russian hamsters…gerbils too. The fluffy bedding crippled 2 baby gerbils and killed another … we were able to save the limbs of 2 others in the same litter. Now we only use tissues. Luckily our hamsters’ babies weren’t harmed! Pet stores should be more responsible & less greedy!!

 

Katie in Cambria at 2:9:2 Friday March 13 98
I used to buy my hamster the fluffy kind and she was no longer feeling well. I took her to the vet and he said to use Kleenex or just normal sawdust that is not harmful and is great for the hamster. I was so happy I read this and went to the vet to ask him if that was the problem.

 

Jenny Breaker in Halifax at 23:30:53 Wednesday March 11 98
My hamsters had fluffy bedding and they were fine. Unfortunately, my friend was not so fortunate. Her hammy’s bedding was swallowed and killed her.

 

James Hayward in Hook Norton, Oxfordshire, UK at 22:37:49 Wednesday March 4 98
Our hamster, Gromit, died very suddenly a few weeks ago, and we just thought that she had caught an infection which had been too much for her. We replaced her with another hamster, a chocolate brown called Portia. A couple of weeks later she went exactly the same way. She was very active one minute and then went very floppy, started squeaking and within 2 hours was also dead. This time we sterilised everything, threw out all of the bedding and food in case they were infected and started all over again with Millie. This morning we woke to find her in the same pitiful state. This time we took her to the vets and spent £40 on a post mortem and tests. It turned out that she had been eating the fluffy bedding and it had caused a blockage to her intestine and her stomach was swollen to almost four times its natural size. When we checked the fluffy bedding package it says that it is SAFE! I have written to the store where it was purchased, and we have bought another hamster from a much more knowledgeable source. We are now the proud owners of Mollie, and we just hope she lasts a lot longer. Even though we had only had the others a few weeks each we still all got very attached to them and they very quickly showed their unique characters. James Hayward (aged 11yrs)

 

Tim Wallace in Melbourne Australia at 2:9:18 Sunday February 22 98
My hamsters were constantly loosing limbs due to the problem of “bad bedding”. Don’t use anything stringy, the strings wrap around limbs.

 

Kelly Hallinan in Sweden at 19:59:48 Saturday February 21 98
I have changed my hamsters bedding because my friend had a set of puppies and she used bedding from the shop and one of the puppies foot had gone black and dropped off and another had been strangled.

 

Zara Fenley in Singapore at 11:17:9 Sunday February 15 98
I had trouble with my hamster with fluffy bedding and now I use soft tissue paper and my hamster is happy and healthy.

 

okep in Blisstonia at 7:36:31 Tuesday February 10 98
The hamster book I bought has all the warnings about the dangers of using certain types of bedding such as the fluffy bedding type.

 

Nicole Bianco in Cornwall, New York, USA at 0:21:56 Tuesday February 10 98
That fluffy bedding used to make my hamsters sick, and apathetic. But now, I don’t use it and they are happy, vivacious, and energetic (keeping me up all night running on that squeaky wheel)!

 

Katie in USA at 23:55:15 Monday February 9 98
My friend had a Teddy Bear Hamster, and she bought that fluffy bedding. She used it, even after numerous times of warning her. She called me a week later to tell me that hamster died of strangulation. For my hamsters, I use tissue ALWAYS. My friend wouldn’t.

 

Reybecca Fredericks in Diamond Point, New York, America at 18:57:24 Friday February 6 98
Down with fluffy bedding. I am suing a pet supply distributor in my area because this bedding killed my baby “Kiyle”. I’ll let you know how it comes out….

 

Anon at 2:28:18 Monday January 19 98
Our hamster died because he swallowed a piece of fluffy bedding. We were worried before he died so we took him to the vet. When he died we paid 130 dollars to see how he died and now we use paper pieces as bedding.

 

Mandy Hope in New Zealand at 23:5:21 Friday January 16 98
My fully grown Syrian hamster got a small piece of fluffy bedding around her neck and strangled. I returned home to find her dead!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Jen in UK at 23:2:16 Friday January 16 98
My hamster got ill after using “safe” fluffy bedding from pet shop – after I removed it my hamster returned to normal. I’ve not used again!

 

Barb Peterson in Iowa City, Iowa at 14:45:32 Thursday January 8 98
We have had two experiences with baby hamsters getting “tangled” in the fluffy bedding product. After the first incident, we discovered on the back of the package that in tiny letters it stated “not for use with baby dwarf hamsters.” I discovered the first hamster which had a piece of the fluff (tiny piece about the size of a human hair) wrapped around its “ankle”. A neighbour lady and myself managed to get it off, but by then the foot was very red and swollen. “Stimpy” later lost his foot, after it turned black, but he was still a healthy little guy – my favourite! Our second experience was just the other day, when a newborn baby was attached (more or less stuck) on a piece of the fluff, and the mother could not get it back into the nest. I managed to remove the fluff, and mom is taking care of her. We are now wondering (after talking to Lorraine via e-mail) if that is the reason we have had a couple hamster die over the last few months. One of them for a few days looked like she had a huge amount of food in her pouch, then died. The other just suddenly got skinny and skinnier, and finally died. We will be taking the “fluff” out of our two hamster cages, and using toilet paper from now on. I may add, that after the incident with the first hamster getting it wrapped around its leg, I went back to the pet store and returned that particular brand of fluff (unopened package) and told them what had happened, and showed them the small print on the package about not using it on baby dwarf hamsters. I was in the store about a week later and there was the same fluff, and more, as they just received a new shipment.

 

jim in Singapore at 11:10:54 Thursday January 1 98
My hammy chewed on the fluffy bedding which I gave it and as a result choked. Luckily, I sent it to the vet immediately and they used a respirator to suck out the fluff and my hammy was OK. THROW ANY FLUFFY BEDDING AWAY I stress !!! Use toilet paper instead. It works very well.

 

Terri in Kalispell, Montana at 20:1:30 Wednesday December 31 97
Something I feel people need to be warned not to use is a piece of fabric. The threads from it can get wrapped around feet or bodies. We have acquired a Hedgehog that almost lost his hind legs from his past owner had given him fabric pieces to use as a blanket. The threads from them cut both his hind legs to the bone.

 

Lea Carter in Kingston, Ontario, Canada at 3:31:5 Thursday December 18 97
I never had a hamster as a small child, and only got my first little guy in my first year of college. I got him a wire cage and used mostly pine shavings for his bedding. I even bought a book on raising a hamster. The book and the pet store people both said that the FLUFFY bedding was a favorite of these small creatures, so I bought a bag. It was red fluffy stuff. Well, Desi started to eat the stuff, and I noticed that it turned his urine red, and a couple of days later he started to choke on it. Luckily I was home, and now – a year later – I only give Desi toilet paper or kleenex as bedding ! I wish I had found a web site as informative as this one when I first bought Desi. It would have saved us both a lot of heartache !

 

Gina Bianco in Cornwall,New York,USA at 7:27:8 Saturday December 6 97
As my sister, I have had a similar terrible experience with cotton bedding. I purchased two hamsters. I put them in separate cages, and to my dismay, while at work the next day, both hamsters incurred separate tragedies. One had a rather large bit of fill wrapped around it’s neck, and had hung itself by the water bottle holder. The other hamster had appeared to be sneezing, and to my dismay, it had a piece of fill running from it’s throat to it’s nose. I removed it, but she died three days later from consuming it. I now only use Soft White Pine shavings.

 

Nicole Bianco in Cornwall,NY, USA at 7:14:58 Saturday December 6 97
My hamster named “Nora” was placed in a cage containing fluffy bedding. She seemed to like it, so I didn’t see a problem. However, she was with her newborns, and the bedding retained both moisture, and heat, causing Nora to become ill. She passed away, leaving all of her newborns to fend for themselves, and they passed as well.

 

Tracy millers in Ontario, canada at 20:53:3 Friday December 5 97
I have 1 hamster and I’ve used it over and over again with no problem until today. My best hamster named max died today becauseof the stupid cotton! I hate that stuff and I’ll never use it again.

 

Laura Heckford in East Grinstead, Sussex England at 11:50:18 Saturday November 29 97
I gave my hamster called fudge some string bedding as my mum doesn’t like the fluff bedding as it clogs up her hover. Fudge ate the string bedding and started to choke on it and she nearly died.

 

Maylyn’s mother in Singapore at 4:33:14 Monday November 24 97
Regarding my daughter’s comment about the bedding, I think we should do as she said. After the hamster’s death, she cried for a period of 6 months! My poor daughter is still grieving over the poor hamster. I hope that you will be able to get rid of the evil fluffy bedding. I don’t wish to break her heart again just because of the bedding-Veronica, Maylyn’s mother.

 

Maylyn in Singapore at 3:14:33 Sunday November 23 97
I once had a hamster. He died because of the evil bedding. I think we should get rid of the bedding.

 

Steve Habubak in Dallas, TX at 1:19:46 Wednesday November 19 97
Fluffy bedding is evil. I have had 2 hamsters who died of it. I tried it out before I read this page about it. At first they used it for nesting, then they both stopped eating and instead started acting likea dog before it vomits, like it’s trying to force something up or downits throat. I thought it might be heat stroke so I made my mom turn down the Air Conditioner. I went to bed and woke up the next morning to two stiff Russian Dwarf Hamsters. Down with Fluffy bedding, let it burn.

 

James Kim in Saratoga, CA at 4:41:42 Wednesday October 8 97
I used to have ten hamsters and used fluffy bedding also, it was okay for about a week but soon all of them starting choking and losing limbs, I had one hamster that was literally stuck in the bedding and lost all four of his legs. It was a horrible sight.

 

Susan in New York State at 3:5:11 Thursday September 11 97
My daughter started using over the last few months fluffy bedding. The hamster was about a year and a half and very healthy, and very loved.Last Sunday after cleaning her cage my daughter gave the hamster some of this bedding and the hamster acted like it was stuck in it’s mouth & my daughter tried to help by pulling at the fluffy bedding. We thought everything was OK until the hamster stopped eating the next day. Tuesday morning when I went to check on the hamster, it was acting like it was choking. I took the hamster with me to the phone to call our vet, but by the time I got through, the hamster died in my hand. I called the pet store to notify them of my concern and they informed me that they sell between 8 – 10 bags a week and will continue to do so. I won’t ever do business with them again and wish something more could be done to prevent any more broken hearts like my daughter’s and mine.

 

Michael Corfield in UK at 22:45:50 Thursday August 28 97
We have had a problem with fluffy bedding. The bedding became caught in the pouch of a young hamster. Whilst the hamster was trying to remove it, its pouch could be seen stretched outside its mouth. The bedding eventually came away leaving us concerned that the pouch may be damaged.

 

julia szabo in virginia at 16:51:39 Tuesday August 19 97
i had fluffy bedding in my hamsters cage also. I had just learned that it was bad so I went upstairs to check on my baby hamsters and their mother and when I looked in the mother had been strangled to death by the bedding.

 

Miranda Lake in Poth, Texas at 19:17:44 Friday August 15 97
I once had fluffy bedding in my pregnant hamsters’ tank. She had her pups in this bedding and all of the babies suffocated. I was left with 16 dead hamsters and a frantic mother. She “disposed” of them herself.

 

Don White in Fremont, California U.S.A. at 5:50:26 Wednesday August 13 97
We believe that the use fluffy bedding lead to the death of our hamster. She developed an intestinal blockage and had to be put down. This bedding does not dissolve in water and has long fibres.

 

Alan Greenwell in Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England at 23:32:4 Sunday August 10 97
Two newly born Russian hamsters got the soft cotton bedding wrapped around there legs. Even with quick action they lost one front leg. However they have turned out to be the most amazing gymnasts and are more able than there four legged friends.

 

Lori Milburn in Lake Forest, CA at 20:29:25 Saturday July 26 97
A piece of bedding wrapped around my hamsters leg and became embedded. We tried to remove it, only to have him go into shock and die. This was only last weekend and I am grateful to have a place to “complain”, so to speak. Your site has been most informative. Thank You.

 

Michelle in California at 2:21:37 Thursday July 24 97
The fluffy bedding I purchased said it was safe for birds and rodents, but one of my birds got the stuff wound around his feet and died. After this incident I will never use anything but unscented dye free Toilet Paper for my hamsters or birds. My poor baby! I’m sure this could have happened just as easily to my hamsters too! One wonders if the manufacturers of this overpriced stuff have ever watched a hamster make its bed? Also what about the little fibers the little sweeties could inhale? I think they could suffocate and have breathing problems..

 

Sara in MD at 2:55:52 Wednesday July 23 97
OH MY GOODNESS!!! I CANNOT BELIEVE IT!! This cotton bedding JUNK I used not only cost me a lot of money but a hammie life!!! My favorite hamster died because he choked on this SUPPOSEDLY “hamster safe bedding” I AM OUTRAGED!!!!

 

Brittany in Cincinnati OH US at 8:26:13 Sunday July 20 97
Fluffy bedding is completely unsafe for use in breeding, and I have lost 4 babies due to the tightness of the fibers. As an amateur breeder (it’s a hobby) I didn’t know much, but I have found this stuff is terrible for hamsters.

 

Steph in AZ at 18:0:21 Tuesday June 17 97
My hamster got its back leg caught in cotton batting. This injury caused a trip to the vet. He had to be put on antibiotics (which is not good for hamsters) or he would have lost his leg or even died. PLEASE don’t use cotton batting! I am 10 years old and LOVE hamsters. We are going to buy a new baby hamster TODAY!

 

Anon at 12:53:22 Friday June 13 97
My Siberian just got back from having the vet remove strands of fluff that had wound all around her bottom teeth and were hanging down out of her mouth (luckily, or I wouldn’t have known what was wrong). I had used cotton balls for nest fluff for at least 40 years without a problem, but now I notice that some brands of “cotton” balls are actually half rayon. This material is much tougher and the hamsters can’t bit through it, apparently. Please make sure that you use only shredded Kleenex for nest fluff!

 

Carly in Kelowna B.c.Canada at 4:53:35 Monday June 9 97
My baby hamster died this morning because we gave her fluffy cotton to make her bed out of because she chewed holes in all her boxes. I think more people should know about this danger to make their pets safer. I love her very much and I will never forget her and she will never forget me.

 

Steph in USA at 13:38:48 Friday May 23 97
I know this stuff is awful already because I had a hammies that lost his front foot to it, and I vowed never to use it again. Well I put some in ( just the tiniest bit) to help my mommie hammie make her nest. Well just my luck one of the babies has lost his hind leg( the whole leg!!) and his other back foot has the cotton wrapped around it. His foot is incredibly swollen but it is just barely hanging on. God I feel so stupid!!! I hate this stuff it SHOULD be taken off the market!! Its a baby killer!!

 

Jessica L. Dion in Burlington, Vermont, USA at 16:11:7 Thursday May 15 97
I have been keeping and breeding hamsters since I was a small child. A large litter was born in the dead of winter one year, and to help keep the pups warm, I added a wool sock, which I mostly unravelled and cut into strips. Although it made an excellent warm bedding, I didn’t realize that one of the pups got her hind leg wrapped around some of the fibers. By the time the pups were old enough to be handled and I found her, the small hamster’s hind foot had lost its circulation and was limp and blue. I carefully removed the piece of string (so small! I felt terrible!) and tried to splint the foot, but the foot was dead. Luckily, she didn’t get an infection throughout this process. Eventually the dead foot fell off, and she was left with three limbs. She was much smaller than the others, and developed a somewhat psychotic habit of pacing feverishly back and forth across the cage (but was otherwise healthy). I will never again use anything with strings or long, strong fibers for rodent bedding. It’s better to simply put lots of wood shavings, or cardboard (which the animal will shred) in their cages. I use a cardboard box as a nesting box and the babies stay warm enough. Hope this helps somebody! – Jessica

 

A.C.Richards in Brighton at 13:10:51 Friday May 2 97
A few years ago my hamster choked to death on this type of bedding. He used to store his food in his bed and when he tried to eat it he got bedding caught in his throat. I think the danger should have been spotted a long time ago.

 


 

Text Versions of Above Screenshots

 

Text copy of Rosewood Soft n Safe fluffy bedding Amazon reviews (See above for original screenshots)

amazon product review link

 

amy89

1.0 out of 5 stars

It killed my hamster in 48 hours, don’t buy!!!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 June 2020

Verified Purchase

My poor baby hamster died within 48 hours of putting this in his cage, he was only 5 months old with no health concerns at all, he was fit and active and perfectly fine, and now my daughter is absolutely heartbroken that her pet has died for no reason! We went to a pet shop for advice and they knew instantly which bedding we had brought,it would appear it is common for hamsters to swallow this particular bedding and it gets stuck in their internal organs and causes a painful death, I would not reccomend this to anyone and considering it seems to be a “known thing” that this bedding is bad for them it should be removed from the shelves and stop being sold! Absolutely heartbroken. DO NOT BUY THIS IF YOU LOVE YOUR PETS

29 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Hannah L

1.0 out of 5 stars

So soft but many online reviews say stay away!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 February 2020

Verified Purchase

Baby dwarf hamster was hiding under wheel and burrowing lots. Bought this and he stopped, just lies in this instead. He loves it!!

Update: I hadn’t realised that others, including the RSPCA advised to not use this bedding as they try and eat and can block their stomachs. Took the bedding out.

23 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Hannah kent

1.0 out of 5 stars

Dangerous to little limbs

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 June 2020

Verified Purchase

It says on the package that it will not twist but it did exactly that. Not even 40 minutes after putting it in with the baby nice, it has twisted round it’s carpus (wrist) and was cutting off circulation. I’m so glad I checked, as I had a feeling when it got it out that the fibres would catch.
I can’t say if this would be the case with less ‘wriggly my animals, or adult ones, but I wouldn’t be willing to take the risk.
Just as dangerous as the standard hamster wool that I’ve been telling people to avoid for years. Fool me once.

11 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Amazon Customer

1.0 out of 5 stars

Does not look safe !

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 June 2019

Verified Purchase

It does not look safe. I thought I am buying paper bedding. Went to the bin straight after arrival. This type of product should be banned!

13 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Youssef Alqadi

1.0 out of 5 stars

DONT BUY

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 July 2020

Verified Purchase

DONT BUY THIS!! I bought this for my hamster she started eating it! I had to physically pull it out of her mouth after googling and seeing the RSPCA advise against this product as hamsters eat it and it clogs their stomach. Not only that, I was advised put it in water if it dissolves it’s safe, if not don’t get it, I put it in water and it didn’t do anything, I’m so glad I realised as soon as I noticed.

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

S M

1.0 out of 5 stars

Loose airborne fibres…

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 September 2020

Verified Purchase

Not what I envisaged as a bedding, nesting material for my little pests. I find the minute fibres are unacceptable in their environment. Soon as you tear, pull apart of remove any of this material from the package there are loose fibres floating around and I don’t like the idea that these are being caught in the eyes and being an irritant if eaten with food and in the mouth or digested.
Not for me afraid, binned!

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Marly Z

1.0 out of 5 stars

My Syrian Hamster Won’t Use It

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 February 2020

Verified Purchase

This feels soft and luxurious, however somewhat pointless as my Syrian hamster won’t use it.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Nora

1.0 out of 5 stars

Not for hamsters

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 August 2020

Verified Purchase

It’s not suitable for hamsters. I didn’t realise before buying material was cotton. Cotton is not suitable as a bedding as it can wrap around hamsters teeth and injure them as they tend to carry their bedding in their mouth.

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Crystal

1.0 out of 5 stars

Don’t use!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 April 2020

Verified Purchase

Used the same bedding for several months then there was a shortage of it so I brought this one to use for the mean time! Cleaned out my hamster and used this bedding and unfortunately she died 2 days after! Only thing that had changed in her cage! Very upset

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

lj007

1.0 out of 5 stars

Too fluffy

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 June 2020

Verified Purchase

Unfortunately found is far too fluffy it doesn’t cover a large area. Not a good purchase and not good value for money

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Lucja

1.0 out of 5 stars

that will kill hamster

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 September 2020

Verified Purchase

Don’t buy it as that will kill your hamster!

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

BT

1.0 out of 5 stars

Price well over inflated

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 April 2020

Verified Purchase

Will be returning items. There is no problem with the product as I use it all the time. I thought I was ordering a much bigger bag than usual. To have been charged 500% more than the normal price for this product is in my mind disgusting!

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Jess

1.0 out of 5 stars

Totally unsafe!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 June 2020

Verified Purchase

This bedding is really not safe for hamsters, please don’t buy this type of bedding it can cause serious issues! Opt for paper bedding instead.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Amazon Customer

1.0 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 August 2020

Verified Purchase

Waste of money

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Chelsea hill

1.0 out of 5 stars

RUBBISH

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 March 2020

Verified Purchase

Awful. Used for my pets and their wee just leaked everywhere! Waste of money

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Rose

1.0 out of 5 stars

Dangerous for small animals – DO NOT USE!!!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 December 2018

As per other reviewers, this product is very dangerous for small animals and as someone involved in animal rescue I am all too aware of cases where hamsters have had to have limbs amputated after this product becomes entwined and cuts off blood supply, also a case of a hamster suffocating to death after ingesting and owner was unable to remove it… Very sad and utterly preventable.

13 people found this helpful

Helpful

1 Comment Report abuse

 

leah jade

1.0 out of 5 stars

What a joke!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 November 2019

If I could give 0 stars I would the amount of people saying that your hamster cant get limbs cut of due to this product you tell that to my friend who used this bedding with her hamster and ended up having to take to the vets to have the limb cut off as it had gone dead or my uncle where his hamster got the fibers stuck in her stomach and died not to long after people keep bugging this bedding up but dont realise the problems it cause you do not know if your hamster is now in pain from swallowing the fibers as they do not speak! Yes they can live a while longer after they have swallowed this stuff but it will get to them some point or another

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Jessica

1.0 out of 5 stars

Need to spend over 20

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 March 2018

Verified Purchase

Love this product but it’s a shame it’s an add on item and I need to spend over £20 to get it …… I just want to log on and order this ?!!!

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

H

1.0 out of 5 stars

Dangerous for hamsters

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 July 2018

This bedding seems great and I was suckered in by how soft it is, however I have since learned how dangerous it is for hamsters to be around this. If ingested it can kill them; it’s also not great if it gets wrapped around them as well. Stick with paper bedding – much cheaper as well

8 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Cj Lawrence Bell

1.0 out of 5 stars

DO NOT BUY

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 February 2019

This should NOT advertise at all. There has been alot of stuff written on hamster forums saying that hamsters have chewed this and ended up with it in there teeth. Also can strangle there neck and limps cutting off blood supply. Please DO NOT BUY This! Get some toilet paper or paper based bedding. Thanks

7 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Nela

1.0 out of 5 stars

extremely dangerous

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 October 2018

Unfortunately this bedding is extremely dangerous for small animals – frequently strangling / tangling around throat & limbs.

7 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

SandyT

1.0 out of 5 stars

DANGEROUS, DO NOT USE. CAN KILL

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 August 2020

Fluffy bedding, or nesting material, is widely sold by pet stores and is labelled ‘safe’ which it is not. The types include any kind of fabric or fleece, cotton wool, kapok (natural doesn’t mean safe) or any type of nesting materials basically that are not paper based.

The reasons why it is not safe have been sadly confirmed by many Hamster deaths and amputations.

To understand why it is so dangerous you need to understand the mentality of Hamsters! The most important thing in a Hamster’s life (arguably!) is their nest. They build their nest and it is their safe space in their cage or habitat, it keeps them warm, they bury hoards under it, and it keeps their familiar scent. They seem hard-wired to nest build. Remove it (not recommended) and they will rebuild it. They need materials to rebuild it and are hardwired to forage for materials for nest building.

We have all seen Hamsters pouching things in their pouches and it can seem amusing and endearing, but it is a highly practical means of transporting food and nesting material back to the nest. That is their focus – forage for food and nesting material and take it back to the nest. The food is hoarded, the material is to build the nest.

So here’s the important bit – Hamsters don’t know what is suitable nesting material and what isn’t and they get quite excited by nice soft things that will feel cosy in their nest. In the wild that might be moss or grass. In a domestic environment they come across whatever we give them. So they will try and pouch anything soft like fleece or fluffy bedding. In doing so, this kind of material can get tangled in their teeth, block up their pouches, swallowed, or get twisted around their legs. The more they try to free themselves, the tighter the twisted material gets and if twisted around a leg usually cuts off the blood supply leading to gangrene, and either death or, if they are lucky, amputation of a leg.

Impacted pouches usually leads to death also, with the blood supply being cut off or pouches prolapsing causing severe pain and inability to eat. Anything pouched can be swallowed, either deliberately or accidentally. One little hammy who survived after being on death’s door, had a large quantity of the fluffy bedding pulled out of his backside by a vet after many injections to try and break it down – he was one of the few lucky ones.

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Elena Maria Villarta

1.0 out of 5 stars

Please do not use this in your rodents habitat! Causes internal blockage!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 31 May 2020

I have not purchased this product but I would like to advise people to not buy this bedding for your small pet as it is extremely dangerous and causes internal blockage. For the safety of your pets, please do not use this in your rodents habitat.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Amazon Customer

1.0 out of 5 stars

Be aware

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 October 2019

This bedding is not advised for hamsters as it can cause injury such as wrapping around limbs

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Ol

1.0 out of 5 stars

Ok, but is not safe.

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 January 2020

Thought this product was awesome! My hamster loved it and enjoyed snuggling in the bedding. One day I was scrolling through YouTube and found a video from a popular hamster caregiver who said that this type of bedding was unsafe. They said that the bedding can cause respiratory problems so I immediately removed it from the hammies cage. Sadly, I will not be buying this product again.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Rachael L.

1.0 out of 5 stars

Harmful to animals, commonly known for causing death, not worth the risk!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 June 2020

This product is known for being harmful to animals, they eat it and it gets caught around their organs, their limbs can get caught in it stopping the circulation – there a plenty of other safe beddings out there or you can rip up some toilet paper (don’t do this for the entire cage, just certain areas). Some safe paper beddings are – kaytee clean and cosy and care fresh, make sure to get the unscented one, then if your wanting to use wood shavings the only safe one is aspen. So there are plenty of other safe beddings other than this one, so please don’t buy.

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Catriona McIntosh

1.0 out of 5 stars

Not safe for hamsters

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 February 2020

This type of bedding can cause suffocation and cut off circulation to limbs.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

HannahW

1.0 out of 5 stars

DO NOT BUY. UNSAFE FOR HAMSTERS.

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 June 2020

This product is dangerous for hamsters. Can kill easily. Do not buy.
Use Carefresh, teabag, aspen, clean and cosy, etc. Only.
Please research safe hamster bedding and ethical hamster care.

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

madeline Harvey

1.0 out of 5 stars

the product is actually brilliant, warm and cosy

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 February 2016

This price is ridiculous, the item can be purchased from Pets t Home for the princely sum of £1.50, the product is actually brilliant, warm and cosy, my hasmter loves it.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

MC Fat Tongue

1.0 out of 5 stars

My name is Emily the hamster & I can’t recommend this more, but the price stinks more than one of my wee wee’s

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 6 July 2016

I agree with the previous reviewer the price here is ridiculous and for that reason it only gets (*) one star, the product its-self gets (*****) five stars. It’s a naturally occurring bedding material (from Kapok tree pods) with short, soft, fibres, so there is no chance of your pet getting tangled up or strangled by it unlike some other products.

Buy it from Pound Stretcher or Wilkinson (Wilko’s) it’s only 0.99p

My hamster Emily absolutely loves it and can’t recommend it highly enough. 😉

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

meg19

1.0 out of 5 stars

NOT SAFE – PLEASE DONT BUY

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 August 2020

This bedding is NOT SAFE for any pet. Please do not buy this bedding. It has been known to kill small animals as the small fibres get wrapped around their limbs and fingers and cause a loss of circulation. Also if ingested it can cause a blockage. Paper based bedding such as kaytee clean and cosy is best for small animals.

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

miss k bentley

1.0 out of 5 stars

Do not buy

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 January 2021

Please please avoid this bedding. Its so dangerous many hammies have died or lost limbs due to this bedding!

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Julia

1.0 out of 5 stars

Not safe!!!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 July 2020

It is really unsafe for all small pets. It wraps in their teeth, limbs etc. and can cause lots of injuries. Please do not buy for your pet. A better alternative is shredded toilet paper because it can easily break.

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Andrew

1.0 out of 5 stars

Please Do NOT Buy this

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 May 2020

Although this May seem Soft and safe IT IS NOT!!! Hamsters could get breathing difficulties! As proved by the RSPCA. Don’t buy this product if you want your hamster to live a long and healthy life.

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Lesley Peters

1.0 out of 5 stars

How it is dangerous

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 December 2019

It is very bad, my hamster nearly died from it as it got caught in her mouth. I recommend for you NOT to buy it.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Gianfranco Simionato

1.0 out of 5 stars

Don’t buy

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 November 2019

Please do not buy this product, it is so harmful to your hamster

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Ines

1.0 out of 5 stars

don’t buy this!!!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 June 2020

this is absolutely terrible for your hamsters health! limbs can get trapped in the cotton! if they eat it they can die! DO NOT BUY

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Emily Farrant

1.0 out of 5 stars

NOT SAFE

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 March 2020

THIS IS NOT SAFE IT CAN WRAP AROUND HAMSTERS ORGANS AND KILL IF INGESTED

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Abbie

1.0 out of 5 stars

NOT SAFE – CAN KILL!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 April 2020

This is NOT safe product. If hamsters attempt to pouch it they can die. Use toilet paper!

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

maddie

1.0 out of 5 stars

THIS KILLS HAMSTERS

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 March 2018

DO NOT BUY THIS
This product is known to kill hamsters by them choking on it, limbs being trapped and strangulation. Please do your baby a favour and use a safe alternative such as tissue paper or carefresh

8 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Text copy of Rosewood Play n Bedding Pods Amazon reviews (See above for original screenshots)

amazon product review link

 

L. Claxton

1.0 out of 5 stars

 Dangerous!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 June 2020

Verified Purchase

Not safe for hamsters! I didnt research this before I bought it but I did after and these are dangerous to hamsters so they went in the bin.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

 

 

Spector Gadget

1.0 out of 5 stars

 LETHAL! DO NOT BUY FOR SMALL ANIMALS!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 August 2020

Verified Purchase

This stuff is LETHAL!! The fibres are extremely tiny, they stick to everything and float about. Just a quick Google search will show you that this stuff is DANGEROUS. Your small animals e.g hamsters, mice, gerbils etc will ingest the fibers or worse inhale them. They will get stuck and your beloved pet will die in horribly. Please do NOT buy this stuff.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

 

 

Bella Rose

1.0 out of 5 stars

 Not suitable for animals.

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 March 2020

Verified Purchase

Not suitable for animals. Research it before purchasing.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

 

 

wibbles

1.0 out of 5 stars

 Not for hamsters

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 February 2021

Verified Purchase

We were told not to use it for hamsters. It’s fluffy and soft and seemed like a good idea, but after we got it, we discovered it’s not hamster friendly.

Helpful

Report abuse

 

 

Vi

1.0 out of 5 stars

 nope

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 24 May 2020

Verified Purchase

I did some research and these are not good for hansters or any rodents..

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

 

 

NewCoLib

1.0 out of 5 stars

 One Star

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 May 2018

Verified Purchase

Found out that this product is unsafe.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

 

 

Lizi-Jane

1.0 out of 5 stars

 Dangerous product – do not buy

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 July 2017

Verified Purchase

While this may not be as awful as the fluffy beddings that are literally just cotton wool, this is still dangerous for your pets in it’s own right. It isn’t digestible if swallowed and can cause bowel blockages, can get impacted in hamster cheek pouches, can very easily get tangled around limbs, and has killed people’s pets in the past. Please do your pet and your wallet a favour – used ripped up tissues/toilet roll! Much cheaper, still soft, doesn’t tangle, and breaks down when wet so cannot get trapped inside your little friend’s digestive system.

14 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

 

 

kalindi

1.0 out of 5 stars

 Danger to hamsters. Almost killed ours.

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 February 2019

We bought this pack from another seller. Please do not buy these for your hamsters. Ours filled his bed with it and seemed to love the seeds, so we thought it was a good buy. A few days in he started to have trouble breathing, could hardly walk and was rocking like a marble. He is old so we thought it was natural progression although we were shocked it came on so fast. Cleared out the fluff and seed so we could check him easier and 2 days later he was back to himself. He clearly had a reaction and reading reviews it’s not uncommon. It’s not worth risking your pets life, get a different toy.

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

 

 

Andrea

1.0 out of 5 stars

 Dangerous don’t use

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 May 2018

This stuff shouldn’t be sold, so dangerous for hamsters, they can get their limbs tangled and then they are at risk of biting their limb until they are free, sometimes biting completely through.
They can also choke on it.
Please don’t buy, I’m on a hamster group on fb and I’ve seen evidence of these things happening.

6 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

 

 

Chloe

1.0 out of 5 stars

 DO NOT BUY

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 January 2020

THIS PRODUCT IS IN NO WAY SUITABLE FOR ANY SMALL ANIMALS!!!! if put in cheek pouches it can get stuck, cause an infection and possibly kill, if swallowed it can be fatal, it can easily get wrapped round limbs and cut of circulation!!! it ironically says to wash hands after use! if it’s bad for our skin what could it possibly be doing to your small fragile animal!! what makes our skin any more important than that of a hamster, gerbil, mouse, rat, guinea pig, rabbit etc. i cant believe this kind of product is still being sold!!!!!

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

From United Kingdom

 

 

SandyT

1.0 out of 5 stars

 DANGEROUS, DO NOT USE. CAN KILL.

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 August 2020

Fluffy bedding, or nesting material, is widely sold by pet stores and is labelled ‘safe’ which it is not. The types include any kind of fabric or fleece, cotton wool, kapok (natural doesn’t mean safe) or any type of nesting materials basically that are not paper based.

The reasons why it is not safe have been sadly confirmed by many Hamster deaths and amputations.

To understand why it is so dangerous you need to understand the mentality of Hamsters! The most important thing in a Hamster’s life (arguably!) is their nest. They build their nest and it is their safe space in their cage or habitat, it keeps them warm, they bury hoards under it, and it keeps their familiar scent. They seem hard-wired to nest build. Remove it (not recommended) and they will rebuild it. They need materials to rebuild it and are hardwired to forage for materials for nest building.

We have all seen Hamsters pouching things in their pouches and it can seem amusing and endearing, but it is a highly practical means of transporting food and nesting material back to the nest. That is their focus – forage for food and nesting material and take it back to the nest. The food is hoarded, the material is to build the nest.

So here’s the important bit – Hamsters don’t know what is suitable nesting material and what isn’t and they get quite excited by nice soft things that will feel cosy in their nest. In the wild that might be moss or grass. In a domestic environment they come across whatever we give them. So they will try and pouch anything soft like fleece or fluffy bedding. In doing so, this kind of material can get tangled in their teeth, block up their pouches, swallowed, or get twisted around their legs. The more they try to free themselves, the tighter the twisted material gets and if twisted around a leg usually cuts off the blood supply leading to gangrene, and either death or, if they are lucky, amputation of a leg.

Impacted pouches usually leads to death also, with the blood supply being cut off or pouches prolapsing causing severe pain and inability to eat. Anything pouched can be swallowed, either deliberately or accidentally. One little hammy who survived after being on death’s door, had a large quantity of the fluffy bedding pulled out of his backside by a vet after many injections to try and break it down – he was one of the few lucky ones.

Helpful

Report abuse

 

 

Emily shattock

1.0 out of 5 stars

 DONT BUY EXTREMELY DANGEROUS

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 24 May 2020

DONT BUY!!!!
, cotton is very DANGEROUS for rodents,
If you pet ingests cotton they will have INTERNAL BLOCKAGES OR IT WILL GET WRAPPED AROUND THEIR LEG and they will CHEW THEIR LEG OFF because it hurts so much. I have to give this terrible product a star rating but I’d rather give it 0.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

 

 

Amanda Woodhead

1.0 out of 5 stars

 Kills pets

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 September 2018

these are well known for harming rodents and even killing them. shredded tissue is sooo much safer. dont spend money on something that can injure your pet

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

 

 

PopPunkAddict

1.0 out of 5 stars

 Do not buy

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 January 2020

Choking hazard

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

 

 

Dave Searing

1.0 out of 5 stars

 DANGEROUS FOR GERBILS

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 July 2020

Please do not buy. Within a week of giving these to our gerbils, they both died. One from choking on the fine fibers and the other from a clogged up digestive system. See RSPCA and Breeding association guidance.

Helpful

Report abuse

 

 

Amber Clark

1.0 out of 5 stars

 Nope!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 May 2020

This stuff is super dangerous for animals, there are multiple reviews/images/videos online explaining and showing the dangers

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

 

 

Joanne Grove

1.0 out of 5 stars

 DO NOT BUY! COTTON FIBRE PRODUCTS ARE EXTREMELY DANGEROUS!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 August 2020

DO NOT BUY! COTTON FIBRE PRODUCTS ARE EXTREMELY DANGEROUS! LIMBS CAN GET CAUGHTS AND TRAPPED IN LONG FIBRES AND THEY CAUSE ISSUES WHEN POUCHED BY HAMSTER PLEASE BUY PAPER BASED BEDDING INSTEAD

Helpful

Report abuse

 

 

Abbie

1.0 out of 5 stars

 Dangerous

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 April 2020

Dangerous if hamsters tried to pouch it

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

 

 

Emily

1.0 out of 5 stars

 Cause my gerbil severe breathing difficulties and allergy. Once …

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 February 2017

Cause my gerbil severe breathing difficulties and allergy. Once I had removed the bedding the gerbil recovered over a few days but I was convinced the gerbil would die.

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

 

 

Katy M

1.0 out of 5 stars

 DANGEROUS.

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 December 2017

Extremely dangerous. This cannot be digested so can cause fatal blockages in a small mammals intestinal tract. It can be inhaled into the lungs which can lead to respiratory probelsms and result in a long, painful death. It can get tangled around a small mammal’s limbs which can stop the blood circulation and can lead to self-amputation or a medical amputation. Just because it’s ‘natural’, it doesn’t mean it’s safe.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

 

Dale Howey

1.0 out of 5 stars

 UNSAFE

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 December 2016

This bedding and other fluffy beddings are dangerous to hamsters and have caused thousands of deaths.Please don’t risk the life of your animals.
Try a fitch bedding which you can get in huge bales for very little cost 🙂

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

 

Amazon Customer

1.0 out of 5 stars

 I would NEVER buy these!! This is what …

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 May 2016

I would NEVER buy these!! This is what killed one of my hamsters by getting caught in their throat. This is dangerous and shouldn’t be on the market, I bought mine from pets at home.

7 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

 

Caitlin Evans

1.0 out of 5 stars

 Highly unsafe, can cause allergic reactions and possibly result in death!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 October 2016

This kind of bedding is actually very dangerous for hamsters and can also cause allergies. My hamster loved this natural bedding initially but then I noticed he was losing fur, becoming quite bald around the hips. I removed the bedding from his cage as it was the newest thing in there and his fur grew back quickly! After doing some research, I discovered that this bedding is very unsafe for hamsters. They can get tangled within it and hurt themselves, as well as choking on it or causing severe digestion problems that can result in death. DO NOT BUY.

7 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

 

Kirsty Kirkpatrick

1.0 out of 5 stars

 Not safe!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 February 2017

Do not buy this. It is not safe bedding for hamsters. Do your research.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Report abuse

 

 

 

Text copy of Safebed fluffy bedding Amazon reviews (See above for original screenshots)

amazon product review linkRosie

1.0 out of 5 stars

don’t rely on the colour of the photo!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 July 2020

Verified Purchase

Truly disappointed paid more for this item than another because the photo is advertised as pink! When I searched for pink hanster bedding this item came up so I ordered and it arrived and its white. Then after looking at the product on amazon it states colours may be different.. but then why come up as pink bedding! This was for a surprise for my daughter and there was a reason I wanted pink bedding if I wanted white bedding I would have ordered white bedding. Disappointed 😞

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Elaine Viola

1.0 out of 5 stars

Good quality but small amount

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 March 2020

Verified Purchase

Not good value for money .. I couldn’t find a weight or any information about the amount the bag contained so was very disappointed when it arrived and saw how small it was .. the bedding itself was very good but just not enough..

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Amazon Customer

1.0 out of 5 stars

LETHAL – DO NOT BUY!!!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 January 2017

LETHAL!!! Cut circulation off our hamsters foot and she nearly died, but was instead left maimed with her toes and foot dropped off!!! James Hancock, director of Safebed couldn’t care less. Reported to Suffolk Trading Standards and because no-one else reported this issue they wouldn’t be able to do anything. PLEASE PLEASE REPORT TO SUFFOLK TRADING STANDARDS do this company actually pay the price…. Too many hamsters have been killed and maimed and this company continue to manufacture and get away with murder….

61 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Jdsmith

1.0 out of 5 stars

Dont buy!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 April 2015

Verified Purchase

It is not safe bedding for a hamster it gets stuck in there throats and kills them, it did it to mine

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Zoë Johnstone

1.0 out of 5 stars

Harmful?

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 March 2017

Verified Purchase

Bought this but never used after reading concerning reviews about hamsters choking. Did not want to risk my hamsters life on a potentially deadly product!

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

kel

1.0 out of 5 stars

choking hazard 🙁

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 April 2012

Verified Purchase

i bought this item thinking it was going to be pink as my 5 year old chose it for her hamster but it came speedy delivery i may add but for my 5 year old to be dissapointed with the colour ….. it was white! i couldnt be bothered with going through the hassel of posting it back and waiting for the pink stuff so used it to find a few hours later the hamster choking on it… defo woudnt advise for small animals like hamsters…. very upset 5 yr old and a very panicked mummy we’ve only had the hamster a week not on……if i wanted cotton wool balls i wud of used the ones i already had also the price for how much we recieved is disgusting…..

27 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Vparker85

1.0 out of 5 stars

DON’T USE-DON’T EVEN THINK ABOUT IT!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 April 2012

Verified Purchase

I’m glad I wasn’t the only one who had problems with this rotten stuff!
Our gerbil looked ‘off’ and his cheeks were huge, so I had the job of picking him up (usually very wriggly) but he didn’t even kick up.
I checked inside his mouth and hey presto there was purple fluff impacted inside his cheeks, I pulled it all out!
Luckily he’s o.k now.
I’m angry with the company STILL selling this product DON’T USE IT, if you love your pets this product will make them unwell.

28 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Melanie Meilak

1.0 out of 5 stars

Lost my glam!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 November 2017

Verified Purchase

Came in white? My hamster was very disappointed!

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Amazon Customer

1.0 out of 5 stars

… it because it was pink but would have been happy with any other colour

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 September 2017

Verified Purchase

Bought it because it was pink but would have been happy with any other colour. White is NOT a colour! Feel I’ve been mislead.

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Amazon Customer

1.0 out of 5 stars

This is not a good idea!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 October 2014

I’ll add to the other negative reviews. I was showing my friend both my lovely ratties and my wonderful gerbils and we ended up discussing his own childhood gerbils. He and his brother found both of them dead in their nest in the corner of their cage, with one of the gerbil’s detached tails nearby. The whole scenario made little sense until he mentioned that the bedding was ‘that cotton wool bedding you get from pet shops’. The ‘fluff’ most likely entangled and caused degloving of the tail or actually amputated it and following that strangled, choked or caused fatal internal damage to both of them following ingestion. Those poor, poor gerbil boys died together so horribly yet decades later this stuff is still being sold.

Please don’t buy. If you want your pets to be comfy there are safe alternatives such as plain white paper towels, pre-torn paper bedding, and hay (messy but hilarious when your small furry gets in the middle of a small pile of it and creates a ‘hay monster’ that shuffles around the tank or cage)!

12 people found this helpful

From United Kingdom

 

 

zoe

1.0 out of 5 stars

DO NOT USE!!!!!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 January 2012

i got this for my first hamster and at the time i thourght i was great ,looked very warm for my hamster to sleep in. so i got it and i put it in the cage for my hamster and the next morning i woke up to find my hamster very sick!!! i took her to the vets and she had chewed up loads of this “stuff” to tri and make a better bed for herself and there was alot of the fluff stuck down her throat and she had swollowed a great deal of it too and was wrapping arounf her guts inside , and she had to be put to sleep 🙁 , so this stuff is a killer , please do not use this stuff as it will have a very sad end.

82 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Nathan

1.0 out of 5 stars

I WOULD GIVE NO STARS IF I HAD THE OPTION

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 May 2016

DO NOT BUY THIS FOR YOUR HAMSTER OR ANY SMALL PET AS THIS WILL KILL YOUR PET! WOOL SHOULD NEVER BE USED. IT CAN WRAP AROUND YOUR PETS LEGS AND THEN STOP BLOOD CIRCULATION, CAUSING YOUR HAMSTER TO CHEW IT’S OWN LEG OR BE AMPUTATED. ALSO IT DOES NOT DISSOLVE SO YOUR HAMSTER WILL DIE IF IT EATS IT!!

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Rosalind Wingate

1.0 out of 5 stars

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT – it should be recalled and discontinued.

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 November 2014

DO NOT BUY THIS, or any similar products, as bedding for your small rodents. Don’t let the pretty colours and soft feel fool you. The long fine fibers can easily get wrapped around feet or limbs, cutting off circulation as the animal struggles to get free. Had this happen to a friend’s 7 week old gerbil 2 days after she got him. He was trapped inside his gerbil house with this stuff wrapped around his upper leg so she didn’t notice right away. By the time she realized there was something wrong, his leg had swollen severely, he’d lost all the hair below the knot and chewed off one toe in his attempts to get free. The fibers were embedded so deep in his flesh we required veterinary services to have them removed and try to save the leg. Fortunately he will probably recover the use of his leg but there were several areas of necrotic tissue and 2 dead toes…..Never mind the $120 vet bill. Ignore the people who say they have never had a problem – they may have been lucky but this stuff is an accident waiting to happen. If you want to spoil your gerbils give them a roll of unbleached toilet tissue to shred – it gives them behavioral enrichment as well as lovely soft bedding. Ready made shredded paper is total waste of your money! That’s what Gerbils DO!! They are professional paper/cardboard shredders!! Mine get through all my cereal and cracker boxes as fast as I can empty them.

9 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Louise

1.0 out of 5 stars

DAnGEROUS!!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 April 2017

DO NOT BUY!! my sister had a hamster when we was kids her mum boughts some of this fluff type bedding not from here but the same stuff the hamster had to be put down as it had been eating it and it has wrapped round it’s insides it’s not safe and shouldn’t be sold

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Hannah

1.0 out of 5 stars

PLEASE DON’T USE THIS STUFF

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 June 2012

Rodents should NEVER be given fluffy bedding. It gets embedded in their pouches and intestines. It’s a killer! Companies are well aware of this but pet owners still buy it because it’s ‘cute’. Please just get some shredded tissue bedding.

27 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

coop88

1.0 out of 5 stars

DONT BUY BE SAFE THAN SORRY X

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 October 2016

This is not safe for small pets I don’t even know why it say it safe because of this my pet got her food stuck and had get her little food removed! I heard another story of the same but with litter of rats please don’t by for hamsters or rats or mice or anything small big pets like rabbits and gin pigs if there full grown x

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Sophie Covington-Cross

1.0 out of 5 stars

UNSAFE

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 July 2016

This is unsafe bedding for all small rodents!! They can injest it and die. Also they can get their limbs stuck and break them. Should NOT be sold.

7 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

R Nee

1.0 out of 5 stars

TOXIC

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 September 2020

This is NOT SAFE for any small animal/rodent to use. It cuts off their circulation and if ingested it blocks up their digestive track.

Always do research before you buy a product so you do not buy this

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Francesca

1.0 out of 5 stars

This product is a murderer!!! Do not buy

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 24 September 2014

Anyone who buys this is a terrible owner who should not be allowed to care for a hamster. It is not safe. It is a guilty killer who has taken many pets lives because it was swallowed or trapped around limbs like it says in other reviews. DO NOT EVER BUY THIS NO MATTER WHO RECCOMENDS IT OR WHAT OTHER PEOPLE SAY. EVEN IF IT HAS NOT TAKEN YOUR HAMSTERS LIFE IT STILL CAN AND PROBABLY WILL. SHREDDED TOILET PAPER IS SO MUCH SAFER AND CHEAPER WHY WASTE MONEY ON THIS. I hope you will discontinue using this product and any other cotton bedding after reading this.

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Sally:)

1.0 out of 5 stars

If you want to kill or injure your loved animal, then buy this stuff

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 April 2017

If you want to kill or injure your loved animal, then buy this stuff, it WILL kill or seriously injure a small animal so please don’t use this, just use unscented toilet paper.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

From United Kingdom

 

 

Carla

1.0 out of 5 stars

NOT SAFE

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 May 2020

Any brand of fluffy bedding is not safe for any animal please do not buy, it can kill them if they ingest any as it will cause a blockage this happened to my hamster, it can also get stuck in the teeth and suffocate them and can also get wrapped around limbs and cut off circulation, paper bedding is a much safe option

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

leah jade

1.0 out of 5 stars

Nope

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 March 2017

No no do not buy this my hamster got badly hurt with it it might look nice and fluffy but I learnt my lesson and now use paper bedding

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

K

VINE VOICE

1.0 out of 5 stars

might look pretty and comfy but it is very deadly

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 June 2013

As a teenager i had a few hamsters and couldnt figure out why they wasnt living very long (a few months if that), at the time i just kept giving them this type of bedding. i found out how dangerous this is so switched to shredded paper instead and low and behold the hamsters i got afterwards lived more like years, so it was obviously the bedding that was killing them! if you care about your rodents at all you will not buy this bedding, give them paper based bedding instead, thy will appreciate you more for it.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Amazon Customer

1.0 out of 5 stars

This product is NOT suitable for rats, even though …

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 June 2016

This product is NOT suitable for rats, even though it says it is. Rats are prone to respiratory problems and this product is very likely to trigger these kind of problems for rats.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Lottie

1.0 out of 5 stars

Dangerous for hamsters

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 6 December 2017

This product is extremely harmful to hamsters and other small animals. There are campaigns for this to be removed from shops as it can cause respiratory issues and can trap limbs, causing hamsters to self amputate.

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

DJ

1.0 out of 5 stars

This horrible stuff should be banned

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 March 2018

This stuff should be illegal, it maimed four baby gerbils I kept several years ago, they lost their limbs in a horrific way and it was hearthreaking to discover the poor things, it’s a disgrace this fluff is still legal.

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

J. B. Carr

1.0 out of 5 stars

Extremely dangerous

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 May 2014

Fluffy bedding is the worse bedding you can get it. It will kill your hamster eventually. I tried it with of my hamsters (not in pink, though :/) before I knew, and I was lucky I didn’t like it and I didn’t continue using it. It’s expensive too. Just get some non-scented toilet paper and rip it up into small strips.

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Kimberley

1.0 out of 5 stars

DANGEROUS

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 February 2014

Do NOT buy this!!! I got my robo hamster from someone who couldn’t care for him, and I’m lucky he wasn’t dead when I got him – he had been packed into his little hut with a ton of this kind of stuff. The backs of his ears were all red and scabby, and we’re lucky that’s all that was wrong! Use wood shavings for the cage and soft undyed paper bedding.

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Amazon Customer

1.0 out of 5 stars

Don’t buy !!!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 July 2015

Please please don’t buy this bedding it is extremely harmful to hamsters. It gets wrapped and round thier teeth

6 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

lisa

1.0 out of 5 stars

Unsafe bedding

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 31 July 2020

DO NOT BUY THIS BEDDING FOR YOUR HAMSTER IT IS UNSAFE FOR THEM

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

From United Kingdom

 

 

Kyle

1.0 out of 5 stars

One Star

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 September 2015

this will kill your pet please do not use http://www.hamsteradvice.com/ban-fluffy-bedding.html

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Sausage

1.0 out of 5 stars

Dangerous, could kill your pet

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 December 2012

My hamster died as a result of using fluffy bedding. It became entangled around a back leg and cut off the circulation, the poor animal broke it’s leg trying to free itself. It died undergoing expensive surgery to amputate the leg. I know it looks lovely and warm but save yourself and your beloved pet the grief and choose a paper based product.

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Lisa Williams

1.0 out of 5 stars

don’t ever give your hamster this product it is dangerous …

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 16 February 2017

don’t ever give your hamster this product it is dangerous and can kill your hamster it is unsafe and shouldn’t be sold on amazon.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Z B.

1.0 out of 5 stars

One Star

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 October 2016

Not safe. Don’t be fooled by the name.

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Grayemily

1.0 out of 5 stars

DO NOT BUY THIS FOR YOUR HAMSTER

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 January 2020

If consumed this can quite literally cause death. Please I beg you don’t buy this! If you want a cheap non-lethal alternative rip up some toilet paper.

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Gears of war

1.0 out of 5 stars

Can kill!!!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 January 2014

Never ever, buy this item, as it is thick fluff(wool) , if a hamster or any other pet put ps it in their mouth or pouches and accidentally swollow it doesn’t dissolve inside them it gets wrapped around their insides and chocked them to death!!! If you love you pet please do not get any, it does say on the packet safe for all small animals, but trust me it is not!!! It should be illegal to be sold in my opinion!!! Please DO NOT ever buy this product! even if someone recommends it!!!! Stick to paper bedding it can dissolve!!!

22 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

cookies29

1.0 out of 5 stars

Killer product

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 October 2013

DON’T BUY!!! This stuff kills hamsters and should be banned. It can tangle around their limbs and stop the blood flow and can get tangled around their gut if they swallow and then kill them

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

mrskatesnell

1.0 out of 5 stars

Dangerous product

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 March 2017

It needs to be banned
This is a very dangerous product and quite the opposite to its name -it’s unsafe bed

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Amazon Customer

1.0 out of 5 stars

Warning if your hamster or other anima is transfering this …

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 January 2017

Warning if your hamster or other anima is transfering this bedding they will coak it is stringy and the animal wont be able to digest

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Ehill95

1.0 out of 5 stars

Do not use!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 February 2012

I brought this for my hamster a couple of weeks ago, it took AGES to arrive and when it did arrive i binned it. After reading other peoples review its TRUE this fluff can KILL! Also the picture to me is different to what you actully get, it isnt fluffy and you do not get as much!

36 people found this helpful

 

Taya

1.0 out of 5 stars

One Star

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 March 2016

THIS IS DEADLY STUFF. PLEASE DO NOT EVEN THINK ABOUT PURCHASING FOR ANY ANIMAL!!!

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

LW

1.0 out of 5 stars

UNSAFE BEDDING

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 September 2017

NEVER GET THIS BEDDING IT IS TERRIBLE IT CAN DTRANGLE, TIE ROUND HAMSTERS FEET, THEY CAN CHOKE A HAMSTER!!! THIS SHOULD BE ILLEGAL!!!

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Ruth Bell

1.0 out of 5 stars

DO NOT BUY! My hamster was also killed due …

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 October 2016

DO NOT BUY! My hamster was also killed due to swallowing these fibres. Not safe at all. Shouldn’t be allowed to sell this stuff.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Kindle Customer

1.0 out of 5 stars

Don’t buy not safe!!!!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 September 2018

I haven’t bought this because I’m not stupid enough to it can kill not safe

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Meghan

1.0 out of 5 stars

dont ever buy

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 September 2015

stop selling this!!!! harmful to animals

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Tife<3

1.0 out of 5 stars

absolutely HORRIBLE

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 24 June 2013

NEVER EVER EVER BUY THIS, I BOUGHT IT BECAUSE IT LOOKED AMAZING I PUT THE BEDDING INSIDE BUT WHEN I WOKE UP MY HAMSTER WAS DEAD I TOOK HER TO THE VET IMMEDIATELY BUT IT WAS TO LATE :(. IT TERNS OUT SHE POUCHED IT AND THEN COKED SAD SAD SAD SAD SAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙁 🙁 🙁 🙁

31 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Amazon Customer

1.0 out of 5 stars

He seemed very happy but died a couple of days later whilst struggling …

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 January 2017

This product should not be on the market at all. My hamster died shortly after I put it in his cage. He seemed very happy but died a couple of days later whilst struggling to breathe.

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Jayne Oliver

1.0 out of 5 stars

DO NOT BUY

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 August 2013

THIS PRODUCT IS ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE FOR HAMSTERS..ESPECIALLY BABY HAMSTERS! THIS BEDDING CHOKES THEM! IT MAY LOOK CUTE..BUT IT’S CERTAINLY NOT!!!!

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Mr N Kervin/Kayleigh Cousins

1.0 out of 5 stars

Just read the reviews of poor animals being hurt by this stuff

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 July 2017

SHOULD NOT BE UESED AT ALL! Just read the reviews of poor animals being hurt by this stuff!!

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

Karen

1.0 out of 5 stars

One Star

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 March 2017

Terrible! not safe for hamsters at all.

One person found this helpful

From United Kingdom

 

 

Lover of books!

1.0 out of 5 stars

DON’T BUY THIS EVER! IT WILL KILL SMALL ANIMALS!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 August 2012

Judging by the other reviews you would be mad to buy this ‘pretty’ product!
AVOID IT AT ALL COSTS IN ORDER TO KEEP YOUR PET HAPPY AND HEALTHY!

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Paul C.

1.0 out of 5 stars

Attractive bedding has dangerous risks.

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 March 2013

Given first impressions, this bedding material for small animals appears to be a great option. It’s soft texture and cosy look make you imagine it’s really going to go down well with your favourite furry friend. I myself had used it for many years before realising the true danger of products like this.
Bedding like this is made of fibres, sometimes similar to the touch as cotton wool. The two main risks to animal health posed are twisting of the bedding, and ingestion. To my great horror I have seen a pet mouse become entangled in fluffy bedding. The fibres had been stretched slightly by the mouse itself, and this had become wrapped around the mouse’s tail. As the fibre becomes twisted it becomes incredibly strong (not even a person can break a twisted strand) and this meant that the mouse could not chew through to free itself. The mouse panicked and the blood supply to the mouse’s tail was cut off. the poor thing had to be put down. I have also heard of many other cases of similar things happening, often with hamsters’ legs (there is even an awareness group on Facebook).
The other risk is that if an animal does eat any of the bedding it will wrap around their digestive system and cause internal damage.
Although this bedding seems harmless, please consider the safety of your pets and choose bedding that is chewable and digestible if your pet decides to have a munch! Discount toilet roll ripped up is a great alternative.
Recently, due to people becoming aware of this problem, many brands have added the word ‘safe’ or similar to their packaging. Merely adding this to a packet means nothing.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Ashleekins

1.0 out of 5 stars

Hamster killer

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 July 2012

I’d never use this type of bedding. When we were kids back in the eighties my brother had a hamster who died from ingesting this stuff. His intestines were so impacted that his guts came out his back side very distressing for a child to witness.I’m now 36 years old and never forgot it! Stick with paper nesting material it’s much safer if your hamster does swallow any. The fluffy stuff is pleasing on the eye for us humans but trust me your hamster will be just as happy in the cheap stuff.

8 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Golden

1.0 out of 5 stars

Deadly… 🙁

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 August 2013

This is the worst type of bedding. I had two roborovskis that died of respiratory infections and it was confirmed by the vets that this bedding was the cause, as it gets lodged in their respiratory systems, they develop wheezing and sniffles that sound like a cold, and sometimes don’t eat or go toilet properly. Since then, I’ve also met other people that have had hamsters whose limbs have been caught in the bedding, and have gnawed their own limbs off, or had to have them amputated due to loss of blood flow! I’d never use it again. ‘Safe’ bedding? Definitely not 🙁 No More Fluffy Bedding!

It’s best to use paper or tissue type bedding (Or ripped up toilet roll), as it’s perfectly safe. I wouldn’t want you to feel like I did if your little one passes away, like it’s your fault for not knowing.

14 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Amazon Customer

1.0 out of 5 stars

One Star

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 May 2017

THIS IS DANGEROUS, DO NOT BUY

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Slipstream

1.0 out of 5 stars

Dead hamster

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 19 March 2016

Do not get this it could kill your hamster

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Zoe

1.0 out of 5 stars

DO NOT BUY IT KILLS HAMSTERS

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 May 2013

my best friend bought this for her baby hamster Rosie she wasn’t acting her usual self and she wasn’t able to go to the loo they took her to the vet and the vet said they could give her anitibioting to try and help or she got put down they chose to get antibiotics it still didn’t work she was such a sweet little thing in the end they got her put down she was in so much pain it would be unfair keeping her alive. They sent a letter of very upset and angry complaint to the company saying about this and all they did was say sorry and sent a cheque back for £100 poor Rosie .disgusting pigs this doesn’t even deserve one star. They know it kills animals but do they care? Nope. I’m never gonna buy this for my hamster.R.I.P little Rosie 28.4.12- 12.10.12

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

1 Comment Report abuse

 

 

Edith Bunting

1.0 out of 5 stars

One Star

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 31 December 2016

DO NOT BUY IT KILLS!!!

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

MISS B S RICE

1.0 out of 5 stars

DANGER DO NOT BUY

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 March 2013

I bought this product for my hamster and it got tangled around my hamsters leg. It is very dangerous and will not break. The blood supply to my hamsters foot was stopped and it swelled up and bled. Some hamsters will chew off there own foot in this situation or die from infection. Fortunately a hefty vets bill later I had some antibiotics for my hamster and he’s OK. It is also a choking hazard.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Pixie

1.0 out of 5 stars

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 February 2015

I would give this product zero stars if I could.
It is not safe for any small animals. Not any hamsters/rats/gerbils etc. It can kill them!
Commonly found to cause bumble foot when the poor animals get there paws caught up in it.
It can also really harm hamsters (not just dwarfies) if they pouch it. It can get stuck in their pouches and make the hammies very sick.
DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT.

2 people found this helpful

From United Kingdom

 

 

Kelly Kira Woodhouse

1.0 out of 5 stars

DO NOT BUY THIS

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 November 2014

Do not use this bedding for any animals ever. Has been known to be injested and cause death to a few.

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Chloe Velayo

1.0 out of 5 stars

NEVER IN YOUR LIFE GET THIS

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 6 May 2015

I haven’t bought this as I know the dangers! I have done all my research and have read all the reviews about this, what I like to call “pet murderer” NEVER GET THIS ITEM IN YOUR WHOLE ENTIRE LIFE

Why you shouldn’t get this product:
1.Your pet could choke on it and pass away
2.Your pet could get trapped inside of this
3.Your pet’s nails could get stuck on the bedding and come off
THERE ARE MANY MORE BUT I DONT HAVE ENOUGH TIME TO LIST THEM ALL!
JUST NEVER GET THIS PRODUCT!

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Lbatik

1.0 out of 5 stars

NOT SAFE FOR HAMSTERS!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 6 November 2011

They get this stuff into their cheek pouches and can’t get it out, and it becomes impacted, and then it’s a trip to the vet so the vet can clean the rotten stuff out. DON’T use for any rodent with cheek pouches!

Use the shredded paper stuff instead. This is too much like polyester cotton candy. The paper stuff is safer.

12 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Jennifer Mason

1.0 out of 5 stars

I would give this product no stars if I could!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 May 2015

Please, please don’t buy this product for your hamster. It causes hamsters to get respiratory problems, and as they can’t digest cotton, kills them since they can’t get their nutrients or water into their system. Even if you have brought this product for your pet, please take your hamster to the vets ASAP and bin the killer straight away. If you brought this to keep your hamster warm, please see: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Petlife-Safebed-Shavings-Animal-Bedding/dp/B003Y3SLVA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1432579041&sr=8-1&keywords=hamster+bedding , and/or http://www.amazon.co.uk/Carefresh-Natural/dp/B0093X6KN6/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1432579112&sr=8-2&keywords=carefresh . If your child is complaining that their hamster cage ‘isn’t colourful enough’, please look into american care fresh. It comes in many different colours such as confetti, pink, blue, purple, natural, and many many more. You can buy care fresh from amazon for a good price. I really recommend care fresh and have had many hamsters using this bedding and none of them have died from health problems, just old age. Also, a great way to keep your hamster warm in the colder months, is by simply ripping up scent/oil free tissue paper. This is a) a really soft material and b) great for keeping your hamster warm. Your hamster needs to stay warm and a good way is just by adding a few more inches of their substrate to their cage and ,if your hamster isn’t a chewer, i recommend soft, fluffy beds- but make sure that the fluff does not come off, and let them sleep in that- http://www.amazon.co.uk/Rosewood-Pet-Products-Snuggles-Snuggle/dp/B000ZSY9AE . If you are buying a hamster, a great advise video is: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BidbVQB-4D0 . There is many great info on the website. If you have more space in your house, you can convert an IKEA detolf shelving unit (link) into an amazing, spacious hamster cage just by building the unit without the door or shelves and then its a cage your child (or yourself) will love! if you have natural predators in your house that would be able to reach the hamster or if your hamster is an escape artist, a tutorial with dimensions on how to build two separate lids that sit on the cage is:- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UYzDeSBE1hI . Thank you soo much for reading this review, I hope you found this helpful.

5 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

cAncAn

1.0 out of 5 stars

BAN THIS PRODUCT

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 February 2015

I would give this NO stars if I could, THIS IS HARMFULL TO ALL HAMSTERS AND SHOULD BE BANNED IT KILLS

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

El

1.0 out of 5 stars

Avoid!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 March 2015

Can seriously injure or kill animals if they store it in their cheeks (rodents such as hamsters typically will do this when nesting) and often they may get their limbs trapped in it. Not safe at all – avoid at all costs.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Amy cresswell

1.0 out of 5 stars

Do your research before buying.

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 May 2015

I have not bought the Product but i have watched hundreds of Hamster care videos and almost every one said NO FLUFFY BEDDING as the material can get stuck in the creatures mouth and caught in its teeth.
But if you have looked at what and What not to buy for your hamster you will already know this.
If not i have just warned you.

Please Bear this in mind before buying anything like this for your furry friend.

Amy Cresswell 10 years old

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

 

 

Sarah1103

1.0 out of 5 stars

THIS IS NOT SAFE

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 9 April 2015

This is not safe for your pet! Please do not use it, if ingested it can cause blockages in your pet’s digestive system and can be fatal. It can also lead to broken limbs if your pet becomes tangled.

If in doubt search the internet and read other peoples experiences. It is always better to be safe than sorry.